The Illinois State Fire Marshal 2024 Small Equipment Grant Program

The Office of the Illinois State Fire Marshal (OSFM) recently announced the list of fire departments set to receive 2024 Small Equipment Grants. These grants will help upgrade each department’s firefighting and ambulance equipment. It’s important we support our fire departments and volunteers that keep our communities safe. These grants will certainly benefit the fire departments, especially in the rural communities. I’m thrilled to see several departments in the 108th District receive the OSFM Small Equipment Grants.

Macoupin County

  • Mount Olive Fire Protection District: $23,121
  • Girard Fire Protection District: $22,322
  • Virden Fire Protection District: $25,436.25

Montgomery County

  • Farmersville Waggoner Fire Protection District: $25,435.06
  • Raymond Community Fire Protection District: $24,999.90
  • Litchfield Fire Department: $19,811

Sangamon County

  • Dawson Fire Protection District: $25,320
  • Auburn Fire and Rescue: $24,036
  • Pawnee Fire Protection District: $24,739.60
  • New Berlin-Island Grove Fire Protection District: $7,998


Rep. Rosenthal Visits Dawson Fire Department

State Representative Wayne Rosenthal (R-Morrisonville) met with Mike Abbott with the Dawson Fire Department to discuss the safety of small town first responders and residents. During their meeting, discussions were had about issues the fire department is facing and what can be done to improve emergency response time and strengthen the department’s critical needs to ensure the safety of communities.

Read More